Reading Recommendations

Reading Recommendations
Picture representing Reading Recommendations


What is the Abraham Lincoln Award?

The Abraham Lincoln Award is given annually to the author of the book voted as most outstanding by participating students in grades nine through twelve in Illinois. The award is named for Abraham Lincoln, one of Illinois' most famous residents and himself an avid reader and noted author. The award is sponsored by the Illinois School Library Media Association (ISLMA) and is designed to encourage high school students to read for personal satisfaction and become familiar with authors of young adult and adult books.


What is Read for a Lifetime?

Read for a Lifetime, sponsored by Jesse White, Secretary of State and State Librarian, and the Illinois Center for Book, is the first statewide reading program to target high school students, was designed to promote the enjoyment of reading by encouraging students to read both classic and contemporary literature, and rewarding them for their effort. By participating in Read for a Lifetime, students develop a love of books and reading that will last a lifetime.